Logs

Inspired by Michael Dean, this is my version of daily (or less frequent) logs.

I’m not very good at keeping up to date with my logs here.
So, I’m going to experiment, for a while, using Notes instead.

Read my Logs

13/02/2024

Touching paper is my personal version of touching grass. They even come from the same ancestor.

Michael Dean, go touch paper.

I’ve been making a point of listening to audiobooks in the car. This is my recent list:

Today, I played The Moon’s a Balloon, written and read by David Niven. Always been a big fan of David Niven.

08/02/2024

A wonderful read today.

Down Clarty Lonnen
Still juggling lightbulbs forty years on.
I’m not certain of the exact date, but it was just before my birthday, forty years ago, that there was a ring at the front door of my flat in Woodlands Grove, Isleworth in West London. Clattering down two flights of stairs, I pulled open the oak door to find a guy with dangly earrings and long henna’d hair which hung in ringlets from a battered brown tr…
Read more

06/02/2024

Our essence is the only thing we need to leave behind. Live and live abundantly. Fran Mart

Noted
Re-Noted: 6 Ways to Use a Diary
Keeping a diary is a gift to your future self. I’ve been writing in the same diary since January 2004. It’s a gorgeous, large, pink leather journal that my mother gave me for Christmas that year. Reading it back is always enlightening, consoling, and inspiring. It records travels, friendships, heart-breaks, family gatherings…
Read more

16/01/2024

“I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder I work, the more I live. I rejoice in life for its own sake. Life is no ‘brief candle’ to me. It is sort of a splendid torch which I have a hold of for the moment, and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it over to future generations.”

George Bernard Shaw

15/01/2024

This tweet popped out at me today. Between the lines I read shades of the Hero's Journey. And then this:

Based on his own experience, along with his study of the Bible, world literature, and the literature of psychology and philosophy, he maintained that such times of darkness are the necessary doorway to spiritual awakening and deepening, since without them we remain falsely satisfied with shallow lives and outlooks built on untruth.

I believe in pivotal moments, those life changing events that plunge us, initially, into darkness but shift us forward in unimaginable ways.

14/01/2024

One of the documentaries that has inspired me the most, California Typewriter. It resulted in me buying a typewriter, and stars one of my favourites, Sam Shepard.